• Under the Raintree Festival

Hailing All Contest Winners!


We are delighted to announce the winners of the creative challenges in literature, music and dance that were held in the lead up to the 2nd edition of the Under The Raintree women’s cultural festival.


The Festival is themed on the idea ‘Women Empowering Women' and the challenges posed by our esteemed jury members are in sync with the theme.


CREATIVE WRITING:

Contestants of the creative writing contest were required to write prose or poetry, in English, Kannada or Hindi on these two topic:

'Gender @ Work: Valuing Minds Over Bodies'

'My Body, My Rules: Navigating Hookups and Relationships'


Entries for the creative writing contest came in from far and wide, including Finland, USA, Dubai, Bangladesh, and from across India and our very own Bengaluru. We asked readers to vote for the poems & prose and we are happy to announce the results of the Under The Raintree creative writing contest 2019:


Kannada poetry: Gowri Bhat https://www.undertheraintreefestival.com/post/manava-bichhi-by-gowri-bhat

Hindi poetry: Swarna Jyoti, https://www.undertheraintreefestival.com/post/एक-ख-ल-क-त-ब-ह-म-by-by-swarna-jyoti

Hindi prose: Sudha Dixit, https://www.undertheraintreefestival.com/post/न-र-द-व-ष-सम-ज-by-sudha-dixit

English poetry: Nalini Vipin, https://www.undertheraintreefestival.com/post/sacred-life-by-nalini-vipin

English prose: Alladi Jayasri, https://www.undertheraintreefestival.com/post/sita-by-alladi-jayasri


The Jury award across all categories for being "way above others in thought" as jury member eminent writer Poile Sengupta notes, goes to Chandrama Deshmukh https://www.undertheraintreefestival.com/post/perfection-by-chandrama-deshmukh


Special mention "for the courage of expression”, notes jury member Sandhya Mendonca goes to Maalini Krishna https://www.undertheraintreefestival.com/post/bureaus-by-maalini-krishna

Honourable mentions: " for unusual rap format" to Vidya Krishna https://www.undertheraintreefestival.com/post/gender-neutral-works-by-vidya-krishna

For being "honest & unabashed" to Sharmila Maitra https://www.undertheraintreefestival.com/post/it-s-my-body-and-not-your-temple-by-sharmila-maitra

All the entries can be found at https://www.undertheraintreefestival.com/blog

MUSIC CONTEST:

In the music contest, singing sensation, Chandanabala Kalyan judged the contestants who had to choose a poem from a female Bhakti poet and sing it in any genre of their choice. The winners, Asha Ganapathy, Bengaluru & Vaishnavi Kannan, Chennai.


DANCE CONTEST

Acclaimed dancer Madhu Nataraj of the Natya Institute of Kathak & Choreography and an eminent jury chose the winners of the choreography challenge called ‘She Speaks Through Her Dance’. The contest was on the theme of femininity & feminism.

The winners are Manasi Jog, Pune, Deeksha Kumar and Samyuktha Shankar, both from Bengaluru.


Congrats winners! You will get an opportunity to present their award winning entries at the Under The Raintree Festival 2019. Creative writing contest prizes are from Sapna Book House, dance contest prizes from Atta Galatta and music contest prizes are from Radel.


Thanks to all the participants, judges and sponsors and see you all on Nov 2 & 3.